top of page

Review Summery

I was going to do another two reviews for book five and book six of the Fallen Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes, but I’m not. I think I’ve said all I can say without dropping any spoilers, I didn’t really know what to do instead, but perhaps my own ranking of the books I have covered might be helpful.

At number 18 - Last Sacrifice by James A Moore

I don’t have anything major to say about this book. I found it very entertaining and some of the scenes are tense. But I did find the world a little bit confusing, I feel like there was too much going on for the word count there was. I think I would have preferred a bit more background, a little bit more description.

Number 17 – Stranger of Tempest by Tom Lloyd

I really enjoyed this book. It kept me hooked and I did read it fast, but I did find the main character Lynx a little odd. There was something about him that I just didn’t get, I can’t quite put my finger on it. The use of magic was well thought out and easy to follow, but the number of characters did get rather confusing.

Number 16 – Dragon Blood Collection Book 1 Balanced on the Blade’s Edge by Lindsey Buroker

I loved the characters all the way through. The world building was a little sparse for me, I felt like I didn’t have much a created world in my mind. There were mountains and snow, but there wasn’t much else. I didn’t understand why it was the way it was, I felt like I needed a little bit more background to fulfil some burning questions I had.

Number 15 – After The Ending by Lindsey Fairleigh and Lindsey Pogue

I did enjoy the surprising twists that followed that pushed the plot along. But there were a few inconsistencies throughout, some of them didn’t really make sense. I did get annoyed at a few of the characters for their decisions, sometimes they didn’t make sense other than to create a situation that didn’t need to happen.

Number 14 - Dragon Blood Collection Book 2 Deathmaker by Lindsey Buroker

There was a different set of characters for this book which was a nice change. I do sometimes get a little lost if there is an introduction to brand new characters. But in the first book, there are a few hints about one of the main characters followed in book 2. There are a lot of twists and turned for this book and I really did enjoy reading it. I think I am more likely to re-read book 2 than I am book 1.

Number 13 - Dragon Blood Collection Book 3 Blood Charged by Lindsey Buroker

I do love it when it all comes together with a huge bang. It brought everything together in a really neat bow, there were still answers I wanted to know, but it didn’t seem as important to know. With so much going on it flowed nicely.

Number 12 – Bloodbound by Erin Lindsey

I loved this book. There were so many great characters I loved and enjoyed following. Although I would have preferred a different ending, I did enjoy the wrap at the end, it did make for a happy ending after a lot of stress and anxiety.

Number 11 – Jim Reaper Series Book 2 Angel by Jon Grahame

I would have loved to put this higher, but I did find this one a slight bridge, just setting everything up for the third book. I did enjoy them, there was a lot going on and a lot of action. So much heartache and pain, I just wanted the world to stop for them all so they could recover.

Number 10 – Jim Reaper Series Book 1 Reaper by Jon Grahame

This was a great introduction to a world we all fear will become a reality. We all fear something, and perhaps a virus that could kill 98% of the population is mine. Following Jim reaper on his adventure to survive the gangs and death was a nail-biting experience. It’s a great beginning to a trilogy.

Number 9 – Jim Reaper Series Book 3 Redemption by Jon Grahame

After reading this I felt at a loss, and at one point I didn’t want to carry on in fear of what was about to happen. I was on the edge of my seat all the way through, I didn’t meet a character I didn’t like. Even the villains were written roundly so we could see what they wanted and why even if we didn’t agree with it.

Number 8 – Dark Heroine by Abigail Gibbs

Violet Lee. What can I say about this stunning character? I wasn’t so sure about it at the beginning, but by chapter 2 I had been converted. The plot is twisted and takes a sharp turn where I didn’t expect them. I felt like I had been sucked into the pages and was a fly on the wall during their conversations. It was dark, it was bloody and it did deliver to every aspect of a vampire fiction novel.

Number 7 – Fallen Kingdoms Book 1 by Morgan Rhodes

I found this book while at Waterstones. I saw the cover and fell in love straight away. All the characters were great, treacherous and deceitful just like you’d expect in a war situation. I didn’t know who to trust or who to hate the most. I realised pretty quickly who my favourite character was and even though I disagreed with some decisions made, I understood why. This is what I look for in well-written characters because just like people we are always judging their decisions, but we respect them none the less if we understand why they did it.

Number 6 – The Sanctuary Series Book 2 Avenger by Robert J Crane

Cyrus Davidon is a man with many layers to his personality and within this book, we encounter the worst of it. Grief and the lust for revenge isn’t a good mix for anyone to feel, but Cyrus, a warrior who has been trained ad follows the God of War, he isn’t someone to take lightly when he swears to avenge the dead. One of the many truly magnificent books of the Sanctuary Series.

Number 5 – Sanctuary Series Book 1 Defender by Robert J Crane

This is a great introduction to a saga of ten books. I didn’t know what I was getting in at the beginning, but I didn’t try and get away from it when I realised they had sucked me in. I didn’t want to leave, I need to find out what happened, I need to find out what the prologue and Epilogue are trying to tell me.

Number 4 – Fallen Kingdoms Book 2 Rebel Springs by Morgan Rhodes

I held my breath all the way through this book. There was a lot of lining up to do, moving the characters to be in the right place, but I found it as stressful as the others. There were still so much going on, so many characters to follow and understand their paths. Some bits I predicted and others I did not. I appreciate being surprised.

Number 3 – Sanctuary Series Book 3 Champion by Robert J Crane

I find myself cursing at Cyrus, I don’t find this a bad thing. You have to be able to love and hate the characters in equal measure, it is like having a sibling, and their logic is different to your own. Cyrus is trying to be the best man he can be, the best warrior and best general for Alarick, but in doing so I feel he may have lost himself slightly.

Number 2 – Fallen Kingdoms Book 3 Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

After book 2 I didn’t know what was going to happen. I didn’t want to guess and I didn’t want to surmise, I feared that what would happen would be worse than my own imagination. I devoured this book in less than three days, reading before and after work. I was torn between wanting to know and not wanting to finish the series.

Number 1 – Fallen Kingdoms Book 4 Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes

And to my number 1. I found it really difficult to rank them because they were all different and I love them for different reasons, but I had to come to decisions and I think I based it amongst the characters. I didn’t want this series to come to an end, and the death throughout some I wished for and others I regretted.

I have had great fun revisiting these books and I hope you guys have found something you enjoy or something for your favourite bookworm. If you wish to know more about any other book then please email or message me.

As for now, I wish you all a merry Christmas and new year.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page