top of page

Deathmaker – by Lindsey Buroker

The Dragon Blood Collection Part 2 Deathmaker – by Lindsey Buroker

We are introduced to whole new characters. One of them is mentioned in the first book. But I think this was the first time I was really excited about reading about new characters in the same series. Not because I didn’t like Zirkander and Sardelle, because I did, I really did. But these characters are just as amazing. I think Cas and Tolemek are my favourites of the whole series.

They might have both loathed each other, but on the second page it is hinted there might have been more to discover. And boy did we discover it, more of a world I wish I could visit myself. Not many books have made me feel like this, but I would love to step in there and see it for myself.

The characters are written really well and the amount of changing through the book is astounding and perfectly written. I don’t have anything bad to say about any of it because I simply can’t find anything, nothing with noting anyway. I am pedantic and not a normal reader, I am a writer myself and always criticise deeper than what is necessary because that’s how I’ve been trained. There is nothing that detracts from the plot or characters. The pacing is good and consistent, it gives the readers a chance to dwell on certain emotions and feel them with the characters. Only when the character is ready to move so will the pace. It’s almost like the characters have written it themselves, it follows them very well.

This is a really good second part of the series. The beauty of having separate characters to the first and second book it means you can read them in any order and you still understand the whole series. The second book has enough input from the first to keep the reader updated, but it’s not essential to read them as book one and book two. Three has to come last though because it ties up all the endings and everything comes together.

Like I said before, anyone who would normally read crime wishes to dip a toe into something magical, I think there is enough to keep you enthralled and entertained. I have really enjoyed reading one and two and can’t wait for you guys to read it as well, I’d love to hear what you think about it too.

Book three is coming next, then it will be on to my favourite writer of 2018

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page