top of page

The Sanctuary Series Book 1 Defender – Robert J Crane

The Sanctuary Series Book 1 Defender – Robert J Crane

What can I say about this book other than every single person needs to read it. It captured my imagination within just a few sentences of the prologue. The prologue introduced me to a man I hoped would survive. There is an air of loneliness and despair I could feel through just a few short pages. Chapter one sees us thrown into a cave with Cyrus Davidon, who we follow throughout.

I absolutely love Cyrus Davidon, looking back at book one (I am currently reading book 5) he had change astronomically and it’s all perfect character development. I have loved following him through his adventures and meeting new people. He isn’t a character with just one emotion, he is fully rounded as human as a fictional character could possibly get. What I love most is that all the other characters are as well, it’s not like the writer has put all his effort into creating one amazing character there are many to love and hate in equal measure. The villains are varied throughout, it isn’t just fighting the same person or the same problem every time. There are a million different subplots kicking off throughout, so it really does keep you on your toes.

I have found some of the subplots hard to keep track of, and there are so many characters and some of the names I have found hard to pronounce. I don’t read aloud, but it would be nice to know how they are said. A minor thing, but still something I would have appreciated, also a small bio at the back of who they are. There are so many different races, Elven, Dwarf, and Troll to name a few, I sometimes forget who I who and what they are. But this is me trying to be picky and find something not to like.

There are a few spelling mistakes in the later chapters of the book, but that’s forgivable. I have absolutely loved all the books so far, I am hoping soon to get the physical books, I have read them on my kindle so far. The covers are so beautiful, I just need them on my shelf.

The Sanctuary Series is for anyone who loves a little bit of adventure, a bit of fantasy or is looking for an epic to get stuck into. Once I read the first one I couldn’t put the others down. I have read books in between just because they have been on my reading list a lot longer than Robert J Crane and I felt bad. But I immediately went back when I had the chance. When I’m not reading I am thinking about what is going to happen next. When there is a lull and everything seems to be going alright for the characters I get anxious and start wondering what Crane has thrown at them next.

Book two, three and four will follow shortly!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page